Whose tools?

Many moons ago (roughly 5 years ago) I had an oppurtunity to get scouted by a select few teams to potentially play minor league ball.  Due to injury, miss-scouting and my stubbornness, I did not make it.

But none the less, there are many who have an oppurtunity to create a household name for themselves.

MLB.com has posted a top 100 prospects on its website of which they go into detail about “what the kid can do”.  They go on about tools; the 5 tools of baseball.  These 5 tools are speed, fielding, hitting for contact, hitting for power and throwing ability; I myself maybe had 2.5 of these traits (hitting for contact, decent speed and decent throwing)

http://mlb.mlb.com/news/article.jsp?ymd=20120125&content_id=26460152&vkey=news_mlb&c_id=mlb

Anyone who has seen or read Moneyball knows that it’s not about the tools a player has, it’s about the make up of that individual.

Yogi Berra once said, “90% of the game is half mental”.  Even though it doesn’t make sense, it makes perfect sense.  If your mind is not in something then how do you expect to succeed in it????  That was my problem more than my knees and it is what the downfall of many amateur athletes is as well regardless of sport.

I guess I’ll end this rant but, I just want to say to all you potential athletes, podcasters, film makers; If you have a dream, go for it.  DO NOT let anyone or anything stand in your way.

 

But hey, what do I know.  Ohh yeah, I’m Luch and I know nothing!

Leave a Reply

